How Much Is A Fishing License?
The cost of a fishing license depends on various factors. All state in the U.S has its own rules and regulations concerning the types of fishing license and their costs and coverage.
You must then ask the local fishing authorities for more information and, of course, be sure to follow the terms and conditions set in the issued license.
A Must-Read: What Is Fly Fishing?
The Types Of License
In general, the fishing license covers specific species of fish allowed to be caught, as well as their size and weight, and the applicable period and areas in which the license is valid.
Always remember that any violation of the terms and conditions set in the license can result in penalties and fines, including the revocation of said license, even the suspension of future issuances. The type of license issued determines the cost.
It’s a fairly comprehensive license that allows its bearer to fish in both saltwater and freshwater areas as well as harvest seafood (i.e., shellfish including razor clams) and seaweed.
It applies only to a particular area, usually the type of water that the license bearer can fish in, such as a freshwater license, a saltwater license, or a shellfish/seaweed license.
Again, it’s important to note that the license usually provides details on the species of fish as well as their size and weight, so be sure to read the fine print.
Furthermore, a shellfish/seaweed license applies to the harvest of a wide range of non-protected species. These can include oysters, sea cucumbers, scallops, sea urchins, soft-shell and hard-shell clams, seaweed, squid, octopus, mussels, goose barnacles, and crabs.
In most cases, the local fishing authorities don’t require a catch record for shellfish and seaweed. Still, a catch record for fish is usually a requirement under the license.
1-3 Day Combination License
It’s a short-term license that combines the benefits of a combination license and an endorsement, where applicable.
Your local fishing authorities may also offer other types of licenses based on the area’s unique fishing conditions.
The Range Of Costs Possible
In most states, if not all, the cost of a fishing license is also determined by the residency status, age, and even physical ability of the requesting individual.
As well as the effective duration of the license. For instance, in the State of Washington, a resident between 16-69 years old can avail of an annual freshwater license for $29.50. While a non-resident has to pay $84.50 for it, a senior resident (70+) pays $7.50 for the same license.
In Washington, too, a young person (15 years old and above) as well as a disabled resident or a non-resident, a disabled person, or a veteran has to purchase an annual combo; varying rates apply, such as $8.05 for youth and $11.35 for a disabled resident.
Anglers who are 14 years old and younger aren’t required to secure a fishing license but catch records are a must for certain species.
While the lakes, rivers, and seas of the United States are for the enjoyment of its citizens, you should still follow the fishing rules and regulations even when you don’t see the need for it. Take note that a fishing license is among the mechanisms for effective and efficient fisheries management.
Be sure to keep your fishing license in a safe place, too, preferably where it won’t become wet from the water. Use the ATLanyards Keep Calm and Fish On Fishing License Holder. Show the world that you’re an angler with the Skippers I’d Rather Be Fishing Chrome License Plate Frame Holder.